My Breastfeeding Journey

Everyone knows breast is best.  The government is shoveling this opinion down our throats at every opportunity… but here’s the thing I found…  Where is all the support?

The hospital were dreadful – one midwife literally tried to force my nipple into newborn BabBee’s mouth. Not the beautiful latching on moment I had been led to hope for.  I was in my hospital bed, desperately on my phone googling images of proper latching, is that the best this developed country can offer me?

And after discharge, at 8 days old I went to a breastfeeding support group and the La Leche volunteer was away on holiday.  At 9 days old I went to a Surestart meeting and honestly, I knew more than them. At 12 days old a Health visitor sat at the end of my sofa and said the latch looked ok.  I was in pain, my nipples hurt, there was no way I was giving up but I was wishing that a little less had been spent on a shiny advertising campaign and a little more spent on practical help.

98% of women CAN breastfeed plus according to the infant feeding survey (2010) :

Across the UK, the prevalence of breastfeeding fell from 81% at birth to 69% at one week, and to 55% at six weeks. At six months, just over a third of mothers (34%) were still breastfeeding

That’s low.  That’s shocking.  But actually maybe if all these new mummies had more practical support it would be higher. My bee in my bonnet is against the government here – not against all the new mothers; (most) mothers want the absolute best for that tiny little thing that has just arrived in their world. Every other woman in my ward gave formula in the hospital – the midwives encouraged it. Those midwives should be ashamed… Fact.

Why is this happening in this “developed” country we live in? It’s not normal practice worldwide.

There’s no conclusion here but a massive question.  My sister SibBee was amazing and that traditional female network made the difference as no professionals seemed to care.  Finally, thank goodness for the leaky boob, it still makes me cry and motivates me beyond belief!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Tealady Mumbles

Clueless First Timer Trying to Work Out This Parenting Malarky

